Eligible Turbines

To be eligible for Energy Trust incentives, wind turbines models must be on our list of eligible turbines. To qualify for consideration, turbines must meet the following criteria:

  • For small turbines that fall under the scope of the American Wind Energy Association Small Wind Turbine Performance Standards (AWEA 9.1 – 2009) in having a swept area of 200 square meters or less, Energy Trust requires both:
    • Full certification or conditional temporary certification to this standard from an independent certification body that is accredited to provide product certification, such as the Small Wind Certification Council (SWCC) or Intertek.
      • As of May 1, 2012, turbine models with certification to AWEA 9.1 in progress may be eligible based on Energy Trust technical review.
      • As of September 30, 2012, listed turbine models without full certification to AWEA 9.1 are required to provide up to date power performance test reports from an accredited certification body along with documentation demonstrating progress toward and the likelihood of obtaining full certification by January 1, 2013, in order to remain eligible for Energy Trust incentives.
    • Listing on the Interstate Turbine Advisory Council's unified list.
  • For turbines with a swept area greater than 200 square meters, the manufacturer must provide technical information and specifications of the wind turbine model for Energy Trust review and provide acceptable evidence demonstrating its reliability through one of the methods specified below:
    • Energy Trust technical review
    • Certification to of IEC 61400-12-1 and IEC 61400-11 from an accredited, independent certification body, such as Germanischer Lloyd.

Energy Trust may require additional documentation of performance, safety and durability not listed here. Listed turbines may also be removed for safety, durability, performance, acoustic or warranty service concerns, or for any other reasonable reason at Energy Trust’s sole discretion.

Energy Trust is currently working with the Interstate Turbine Advisory Council (ITAC) to develop additional criteria and an application process for consideration of mid-sized turbines.

Manufacturers with questions about Energy Trust’s eligibility criteria should contact Chris Dearth.


Eligible wind turbines

Manufacturer/Turbine Model Ratings at 11m/s (kW)1 Annual Energy at 5m/s (≈11mph) (kWh)2
Pika Energy Pika T701 1.5 2,420
Xzeres Skystream 2.1 3,420
Eveready Kestrel e400nb 2.5 3,930
Bergey Excel 6 5.5 9,920
Bergey Windpower Excel 10 8.9 13,800
Osiris 10 9.8 23,704
Xzeres 442 10.4 16,900
Northern Power Systems NPS100 844 170,0004
Vergnet GEV MP 242.8

1 As listed on ITAC website unless noted
2 As certified by SWCC or Microgeneration Certification Scheme unless noted
3 Power performance test report submitted to SWCC Aug 2012
4 Published manufacturer specifications as of Aug 2012

Energy Trust does not endorse any particular manufacturer, contractor or product in promoting its programs. The fact that the names of particular manufacturers, contractors, products or systems may appear on this page or elsewhere in Energy Trust program materials does not constitute an endorsement. Manufacturers, contractors, products or systems not mentioned are not implied to be unsuitable or defective in any way. Energy Trust is not responsible for assuring that the design, engineering, or construction of any wind system project is proper or complies with any particular laws, regulations, codes, licensing, certification and permit requirements, or industry standards. Energy Trust does not make any representations of any kind regarding the results to be achieved by any eligible turbine listed or any wind energy system or the adequacy or safety of such measures.