Energy Trust of Oregon 421 SW Oak St., Suite 300 Portland, Oregon 97204 Telephone: 1-866-368-7878 Facsimile: 503-546-6862

energytrust.org



**NEWS** 

March 28, 2013

For Immediate Release Amber Cole 503-445-7636 amber.cole@energytrust.org

## **Energy Trust of Oregon board adds Mark Kendall**

Salem businessman brings broad energy expertise to the nonprofit

SALEM, Ore. — March 28, 2013 — Energy Trust of Oregon has added four new members to its board of directors, including Mark Kendall of Salem.

Kendall is founder of Kendall Energy Consulting, LLC, a company that helps communities, organizations and businesses develop energy-efficiency and renewable energy programs. He previously served 19 years with the Oregon Department of Energy and 11 years with the Eugene Water and Electric Board, the Eugene public utility.

"We are privileged to engage Mark's varied and deep experience in energy policy and utility operations on behalf of Energy Trust," said John Reynolds, board president, Energy Trust.

In addition to Kendall, others recently named to Energy Trust's board include Anne Warrington Donnelly, a nonprofit executive from Coos Bay; Anne Haworth-Root, an entrepreneur and agribusiness leader from Medford; and Dave Slavensky, a manufacturer from Bend. Kendall is one of two board members from Salem. The other is Alan Meyer, director of energy management for Weyerhaeuser Company.

Drawn from communities around the state, Energy Trust directors represent a broad spectrum of expertise from the private sector and public institutions. Board members, all volunteers, provide strategic and policy direction for the nonprofit, which designs and delivers programs that help residential, commercial, industrial and agricultural customers save energy and generate renewable power. The 15-member board approves the organization's annual budget and major expenditures. Board members bring independent viewpoints to their oversight of Energy Trust, which invests in energy efficiency and renewable energy for the benefit of utility customers and operates under a grant agreement with the Oregon Public Utility Commission.

The Energy Trust board elected officers at its first meeting of 2013. Reynolds, a University of Oregon professor of architecture emeritus who lives in Eugene, was re-elected to a sixth one-year term as president. He has served on the Energy Trust board since the organization was established 11 years ago.

Debbie Kitchin, a Portland business owner, was elected to a second term as vice president. Meyer was newly elected as secretary. Serving his second full term as treasurer is Dan Enloe, a Washington County resident and supply chain manager at Intel Corporation in Hillsboro.

Other members currently serving on Energy Trust's board include Rick Applegate, Applegate Consulting, Portland; Julie Brandis, Oregon State University Foundation, Corvallis; Ken Canon, Canon and Hutton law firm, Myrtle Creek; Roger Hamilton, Western Grid Group, Eugene; and Jeff King, Northwest Power and Conservation Council (retired), Portland. Representatives from

the OPUC and the Oregon Department of Energy serve as non-voting board members. Nine of the 13 voting board members are from outside the Portland region. All but three are employed in private sector enterprises.

All board meetings are open to the public. View board meeting dates, agendas and materials online at <a href="https://www.energytrust.org/About/public-meetings/BDMeetings.aspx">www.energytrust.org/About/public-meetings/BDMeetings.aspx</a>.

Energy Trust of Oregon is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping utility customers benefit from saving energy and tapping renewable resources. Our services, cash incentives and energy solutions have helped participating customers of Portland General Electric, Pacific Power, NW Natural and Cascade Natural Gas save more than \$1 billion on energy bills. Our work helps keep energy costs as low as possible, creates jobs and builds a sustainable energy future. Learn more at www.energytrust.org or call 1-866-368-7878.

END